#5 Que falta

Okay, I’ll admit it… I’m a tiny bit homesick. There are just a few things lately that have been a little challenging- but it is good for me, I’m realizing what I have taken for granted.

  • Space: Here, at my host families house we are not allowed to have friends in our bedroom or over past 10PM. There is small living room at the front of the house and a large kitchen in the back of the house; neither place is conducive for fellowship after dinner each evening. Even if friends were to come over, we’d have to speak in Spanish.
  •  Easy Communication: The lack of a cell phone & slow Internet is helping me gain patience.
  • Healthy food: I’ll be chubby for Christmas.
  • The Sun: It’s the rainy season.
  • Fall: Apple cider, football games and a reason to wear a scarf.
  • Ability to express myself efficiently: I’m bad at Spanish.

This past weekend I traveled with my program to Monteverde, a cloud forest about 3 hours north of San Jose. We traveled by bus about 4,662 ft. above sea level. The cliff-like edges next to the narrow, wet, dirt (mud) roads were very thrilling! The rain began as we left San Jose on Friday afternoon, and didn’t stop until we returned on Sunday evening.

Although we could only see very little of Monteverde, it was a very relaxing and fun time. The fog/clouds and rain made everything a little bit more mysterious and cozy- which was fine since many students have been exhausted and sick with colds.

                                    Jocelyn demonstrating the main activity of the weekend.

I love mountains and the aura surrounding them. Our hotel definitely was fitting; cozy, a little rustic and sophisticated at the same time. Since all three meals were included on this trip, many of us spent the weekend eating and sleeping in the comfy beds.

On Saturday the majority of students went Zip-lining! I didn’t take my camera zip lining; not only because I’m accident prone, but also because it was foggy and raining. The rain didn’t hinder the thrill of zip lining, however we did miss out on seeing some incredible views. Click here to see what was behind the fog (Mom, you might get vertigo).

After touring 11 different Zip Lines, we had the option of doing the “Tarzan Swing”- jumping from a large plank suspended in the air… kind of similar to bungee jumping! It was so fun! Click here to see what I’m talking about.

On Saturday night a bunch of students went dancing at a club in Monteverde- Imperial and Salsa Dancing always makes for a great night! Which reminds me, Click here and watch this (I’m famous).

Since this past Monday was a cultural holiday in Costa Rica, many stores, companies and schools had the day off.  Some friends and I took the bus to a mall to look around and pick up a few necessities. I was looking for some sweaters and long sleeve shirts- it isn’t too bad here (it’s usually in the 70’s) but since we’re always getting wet from the rain it seems colder.

A few nights ago Tyrone had terrible heartburn and had to go to the Emergency room in the middle of the night. Later that day when I returned from class I was feeling concerned. I went straight into the kitchen with a bit of urgency and asked Vanessa “Es Tyrone mujer?” She shook her head smiling, looking me in the eye with wide eyes, waiting for me to say something else. With some more verbal and non-verbal communication I realized I had mistaken the word “Mejor” (Better), for the very similar word, “Mujer” (Woman).

So, Tyrone is not a woman, but he is better.

After my final Spanish exam on Friday (yikes!) I’m heading to Puerto Viejo (located on the south east coast of Costa Rica) with some friends. We’re staying in a hostel with all sorts of hammocks and tents – only $8 a night! Do us a favor and pray that we don’t get dengue fever, as it has been very prevalent on the Caribbean coast in the past few months. Thanks! Chao!

1 comment
  1. hnramage said:

    I love the videos Bridget! I always knew you would be famous. I hope you enjoy the Reggae and jerk cuisine of Puerto Viejo, it is a really fun town. Maybe a little too fun so I will pray you stay out of trouble.

Leave a comment