#6 woahs and woes Puerto Viejo

Well, my Spanish exam went okay. I just basically sweated and stuttered the entire 20 minutes. I had to interview a mock patient in a doctors office setting- ask them health questions, give recommendations take their blood pressure, weigh and measure them. Since I loosened the screw on the pump too fast, I made up the blood pressure reading and told the “patient” that she was healthy. Even though my patient told me she had a cough and a fever, I for some reason told her to exercise daily. I try to stick to the easy phrases.

After my exam I hopped on bus with a few other friends and arrived in Puerto Viejo just in time for dinner. Our hostel, called “Rocking J’s” had already started the party at 6PM. Rocking J’s is essentially ocean side property speckled with mosaic art, hammocks and tents available for rent. It was so neat!

On Saturday morning we explored the town and discovered a small soda off the beaten path of town and had delicious iced coffee and food! It was such a great way to start the day.

Since the beach at Rocking J’s isn’t good for swimming or lounging, we rented bikes for $5 and road them about 30 minutes south of Puerto Viejo to a beach called Punta Uva. We spent the day lounging, playing in the waves and exploring the gorgeous beach.

Saturday night we sat and listened to the bumping club and salsa music from the beach, sitting at a bomb fire, facing the sea. On our way back to Rocking J’s we got some kabobs from a street vender- nothing tasted so good while strolling with a few great friends (and stray dogs) in a small paradise town.

When we arrived back at Rocking J’s we stopped by another bomb fire surrounded by party animals that were sipping on Imperial, beating on drums and singing/chanting verses of various songs in Spanish.  

Sunday was another beautiful day complete with another breakfast and Iced coffee from the same soda, sunshine and swimming at beach closer to Rocking J’s. Since we didn’t have class on Monday morning, a few of us decided to stay in Puerto Viejo another night. I rented a hammock for $7 and slept like a baby!

We swam out to this little island off the coast!

            As you may have experienced, not every adventure goes completely smoothly. With these next few stories I ask that you don’t pity me, as it will only cause me to freak out more than I already have. Mom, this is where you say in a rather harsh voice (maybe smirking or chuckling a little) “I think you’ll live”.

I was delighted to share a chicken finger and quesadilla dinner with Jonathon on Sunday evening. With my first bite of the quesadilla, my chewing was interrupted by hard object. I tried very hard to retain poise and composure as I spit my food into a napkin. I tried even harder to remain cool, calm and collective as I found a shard of glass in my half chewed food. It took a few minutes for me to realize the severity of the situation, but only a few moments for me to wonder if we’d get our meal for free. With understanding, we mentioned our discovery to the waitress and left the restaurant without charges. Oh how thrilling it is to have a terrifying experience with a joyful outcome!

Even though we had just come out on top of the budget, we found our experience to be reason to continue spending money on food and drink. For the rest of the night we hopped to different restaurants and bars, each with a different environment. It was it was a great way to explore the town, especially since very few people were out on a Sunday night.

On Monday morning I woke up feeling irritation on my stomach. I found a warm, red, and blistering rash surrounding my belly button. It was hard to ignore as it was painful with contact of clothing. The blisters continued to grow through out my day of traveling. When I returned home I showed Vanessa my rash “AH! Que feo!” (How ugly!). She had Tyrone take me to the pharmacy around the corner.

Tyrone spoke to the woman behind the counter, explaining the situation. The woman behind the counter asked to see my rash so I stood at the counter in the public pharmacy, exposing my hideous rash. With an inquisitive look she asked me a few questions that I barely understood and then asked her co-workers to come look. I was the gringo girl dressed in pajamas, in the middle of the pharmacy showing all workers and customers my infectious rash. They could not find a diagnosis, but Tyrone still bought me an Allegra pill, just for kicks.

When I returned from the pharmacy Vanessa was still concerned. I began searching google for an answer, which was a mistake. I laid on my bed trying not to think of death as Jocelyn sat at my desk and kept me sane, telling me that I was alright. After dinner Vanessa took me to another pharmacy across town. There I stood again, in the middle of a pharmacy surrounded by curious Tico’s staring at my rash. Vanessa and the woman behind the counter conversed for a few moments in Spanish and then suddenly the woman turned to me and spoke in English “We believe that maybe a cockroach has pissed on you”. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to crawl in a hole or burst out laughing. She didn’t know for sure, but she advised me to the Clinic immediately.

At this point in time it was 8PM; I was tired but still had enough energy to internally freak out. Vanessa explained that ISA (my program I’m studying abroad with) would not cover the clinic bill. She was already on her cell phone, calling her neighbor who is a doctor.

We arrived back home and immediately went next door. An older woman (overweight with fake penciled eyebrows) greeted us at the door. She looked at my rash the same way every one else had; a little curious yet disgusted. I stood in her foyer, trying not to cry or whine as she cleaned my rash with rubbing alcohol. With a syringe she popped my blisters. I felt like I should have been air lifted back to the US- it hurt so badly! She applied cream, covered my stomach with gauze and then wrapped my torso with a compression bandage. She wrote me a prescription for 4 different medications and then Vanessa took me back to the pharmacy. I have no idea why I would ever need 4 medications for any type of health condition.

I tried telling Vanessa that I wanted to wait a day before purchasing medication, but she wouldn’t have it. Fourteen dollars later (I only got two of the prescriptions), I stood in my room applying cream to my burning rash. Vanessa came into my room, had me lift up my arms, stripped my shirt, grabbed a clean t-shirt from my shelf and redressed me. I stood motionless; glad to have the assistance since I felt pain with every move. My motions resembled those of pregnant woman in her third trimester. I was clearly miserable and tired; Vanessa (however helpful) still managed to poke fun at my condition by making a few pregnancy jokes.

This morning the rash looked a little better, but still hurt. When I went around the house looking for rubbing alcohol to pop my blisters again, Vanessa took over. She sterilized a sewing needle and had me stand in the kitchen as she poked my stomach. I had wanted to do it by myself in case I felt like crying, alas nothing can beat this Tico Mom’s determination to help. She placed a panty liner over my rash and then re-wrapped my torso with the compression bandage. It was unnecessary, but more comfortable than nothing.

When I arrived at my Alternative Health class this afternoon, the other students in my class were curious about my time in Puerto Viejo since we are taking a field trip there in November. I couldn’t help but share my concerning rash story. That was clearly a mistake since my teacher, Roberto, is constantly looking to help out other people. “Show me your rash” (the class then chimed in) “Yeah, we want to see it!” Peer pressure always gets me. The panty liner alone (stuck to the wet ointment on my skin) was enough of a show.

After class I went with Roberto down to his office. I laid on his acupuncture bed as he examined my rash with a light and a magnifying glass. He cleaned it, covered it with another type of ointment and then began making a mixture. He gave me a little bottle full of natural ingredients that will help relieve pain and itching. Roberto’s diagnosis; a bite from a sea creature or spider… “But I not sho-ur, theese is strange”.

So, it seems to be getting better. In the past 24 hours of seeing multiple health professionals and taking 4 different types of medicine, I still have no diagnosis. I’m just glad that I’m being taken care of. There is definitely no lack of concern for little gringo girls with rashes, here in Costa Rica.

On a side note, don’t ask me why I can’t stop listening to corny bachata songs by Prince Royce- a very popular artist here in Costa Rica. His songs are always playing at the dance clubs- maybe they remind me of good times?. Click here to listen to Prince Royce.

Leave a comment