#4 Coffee & Lava

If only I had designated time for sharing my experiences with you daily! It has been another fantastic week for me!

Last week seems as though it was last month! My Tica Mom (Vanessa) returned from New Jersey last Thursday night. The family was anxiously awaiting her arrival. When I walked out of my room for dinner the scent of Tyrone’s cologne filled the hallway; he wore a huge grin as he fixed his collar and tugged on his sleeves.

Vanessa is wonderful! I can now see why she was so missed by the family. She cooks delicious meals, cleans and talks. Her mouth moves a mile per minute and she is always displaying so much emotion.  Jocelyn and I have realized that we need to look at her while she is talking in order for us to understand what she is saying. She calls Tyrone “Mi Amor” (My love) and her friends and daughters “Mami.”

Another thing that is especially great about Vanessa is that she offers me coffee each morning. When Jocelyn and I first arrived here we filled out a food/meal preference sheet that communicated our likes and dislikes. For example, Jocelyn likes milk or juice in the morning and I like coffee.

At home, I usually enjoy about 2 cups of coffee- but that is if my dad doesn’t cob the rest of the pot before I can. This is just one similarity between the two father figures currently in my life. Tyrone offered me coffee on two different occasions (which I distinctly remember). On the other mornings Tyrone would offer Jocelyn her drink of choice, serve her, turn to me- pause for a second- and then ask me how I slept or if I was going dancing later that night. While I would answer his questions I watched him walk over to the coffee pot, pour himself another cup and the remaining in his to-go canister.

I tried to plan around this problem but did not succeed; there are no coffee stores on my way to school and the school cafeteria doesn’t open until after classes begin. Although the mornings with out coffee were difficult, they helped me realize that I have an unfortunate dependence. I guess the first step is admitting I have a problem.

One difference between my Dad and Tyrone is their ability to sing. Luckily my Dad has never looked into my eyes and began singing a Christian praise song. Even on the first day of being here Tyrone cranked his favorite praise song on his kitchen stereo and stood proudly, singing for us.

In order to show appropriate respect one must first contain the immense urge to laugh. I usually try to lose eye contact with both Tyrone and Jocelyn and stare at my food instead. Sometimes I nod my head as if I understand the message of the song. After singing a few verses Tyrone looks at us smiling, and then elaborates on what the song means to him. He gets serious and says something like “The spirit can always be with us whenever we are said or have a hard day at work.” Since I struggle with conversational Spanish alone, I like to avoid deep topics. Earlier this week after being sung to, I was feeling particularly on the edge of laughing. I chose a path of digression by I asking about a random word in the song “Que Significa?” Tyrone explained with a few more words, hand motions and lastly, of course, by singing me the verse again, looking me in the eye and smiling.

I’m sure you’ll be surprised to hear that I’ve become the butt of Tyrone’s jokes. I can’t say I don’t enjoy it- almost every day he has me bent over laughing. He’ll ask Jocelyn if she likes the food we are eating and then he’ll just look at me and laugh because he doesn’t have to ask me if I like the food because I eat all of it. When I came home soaking wet because I forgot my umbrella he chuckled and sat imitating my look by matting his hair down with his hands. When I say something wrong in Spanish he’ll raise his voice and say “Qu-wahhaatt?!” and if I tell him I don’t have homework he shakes his head laughing and says something like “Yeahhh right, you need to go practice your Spanish”.

Yesterday I began feeling a little sick with a sore throat and fever. When Vanessa told Tyrone that I wasn’t feeling well he looked at me, laughed and said, “That’s because she’s been singing so much! (Turns to me) Bree-heet! No more singing!”

I sort of expected to get sick since I have not been getting enough sleep or taking care of myself. There is no time for sleeping here! There is too much fun to be had!

This past weekend the program traveled to Volcano Arenal, which is located just north of San Jose in Costa Rica’s Northern Lowlands. A town right next to the Volcano was named “La Fotuna” for its luck; the lava of Arenal (about 3 miles away) flows away from the town.

            I must admit that I had underestimated the potential beauty and experience this trip had to offer; I now stand corrected! We stayed in a beautiful hotel called “Los Lagos”, located right next to Arenal. Complete with hot springs, waterslides, hiking trails, beautiful plants & gardens and a constant view of the Volcano.

Canyoning, horseback riding and biking tours were some activities offered for an extra fee. Many students decided to hike around the resort and relax in the hot springs instead.

            Some friends and I were lucky to snap cloudless pictures of the volcano after hiking to a look out on Saturday morning. We were sweating within minutes of hiking- I personally was drenched, which made for some serious dehydration problems later that evening in the hot springs.

            We went to a Soda (a small, cheap and usually delicious restaurant) in La Fortuna for lunch. This was where I received the most delicious chicken fajitas and fresh fruit juice.            For the rest of the day many of us relaxed in or by the many pools at the Hotel. After dinner the relaxing continued near the hot bar- the bar in the pool that is surrounded by giant hot tub.

             On Sunday we went to Catarata Fortuna. The strenuous 15-20 minute hike down the mountainside was rewarded with the site of a beautiful waterfall and basin. We spent about hour swimming in the basin, trying to keep our balance on the surrounding slippery rocks and exploring the separate run off area. The water was very difficult to swim in as there were currents coming from each way. The water was also surprisingly cold- similar in temperature (and color) to lake Michigan in the early summer.

            Aside from the persistent urge to watch Lord of the Rings and/or erupting volcano video’s on YouTube, the entire weekend was fantastic! I had never experienced anything remotely similar…  maybe you can relate; you’re relaxing in a hot spring until suddenly you’re struck with a bit of panic- you look past the exotic plants and gardens to scan a massive Volcano for orange lava.

There is something to be said about the contentedness in this lifestyle. It is necessary to let go of control and just let fate and flexibility take over. Earthquakes and Volcanos; two potentially disastrous forces of mother nature that are prevalent in Costa Rica and both come with out warning. Even if one wanted to plan ahead the clocks all read different times and schedules are either hard to come by or inaccurate. Here, in Costa Rica, it is the current moment that is most important. If a teacher is 10 minutes late for class, it is probably because they ran into a friend while on their way and so they stayed to chat for a bit. Whoever thought that being on time should be more important than personal relationships? Finally, I don’t feel so bad about being tardy all those years in middle school and high school… and now, in college.

For those of you who think I’m here just goofin’ around (Dad), I can assure you that I’m working hard in school! Spanish class is particularly challenging! Right now I’m learning about Acupuncture, natural medicine and leadership. Last week my Spanish class took the bus into central San Jose to look at and purchase different herbs that are beneficial for health. We were each assigned a particular herb or remedy and then had presentations last week. I did at presentation on “Una de Gato” (translates as “Cat’s Claw”) its a wood-like vine that grows in Peru. It is extremely beneficial for many health problems (insert long list).

This is my Spanish Health Class- My professor is the cute little lady sitting at the head of the table.

In my leadership class this past Monday we watched a movie on Shackleton’s adventure to Antarctica. I highly recommend watching this video (or any others) about the story!

Click here to watch Shackleton’s Antarctic Adventure.

In other news Jocelyn and I came home Sunday night to find matching Winnie the Pooh blankets on our beds. Pura Vida!

Leave a comment