#2 Thus far

Wow! I’ve never felt so comfortable being away from home.

This week has been very busy but I have enjoyed every minute. My classes are already and will continue to be extremely beneficial and interesting. My professors are incredible people- I can’t wait to spend more time with them. The first week of classes in the States is commonly known as “syllabus week”- go to class, get the important dates and details, do nothing etc. Here at this school in Costa Rica, very few classes receive syllabi, the obvious is implied, and dates and projects are to be determined. In many ways school seems less stressful and more relaxing; there is organization and order, but roads are only crossed when we get to them.

Even after a few class periods, I feel more care, respect and trust from each of my professors. I know them better than I knew any of my past professors after a semester.

My professors have so much passion for teaching, and to me they seem more like either friends or caretakers (this might because the classes are small- my smallest class being 8 students and my largest being 15).

I’m taking four classes; Spanish for Health Professionals (4 hours every day), Intercultural Communications, Creative Leadership and Alternative Health Approaches.

I already have a crush on my Intercultural communications professor who is most definitely one of the funniest people I know, as well as the most cultured. He has a

-I just felt a small earthquake. woah!

scruffy beard; a hairstyle similar to a mullet (but not really that much of a party in the back), wears thick black glasses and might be shorter than me (unfortunate).

During orientation he did presentation for the international students. He explained many different behaviors in Costa Rica- such as communicating with car horns- (beep beep) “You look good in pink” (beep beep)”the light is about to turn green, so get ready”.

I also have a soft spot for my professor of my Alternative Health Approaches class. I am especially excited for this class since I have been considering holistic health as area of focus within health communications. My professor is teaching because he loves his profession and God told him to turn his knowledge into actions. During our first class we learned a breathing exercise for replenishing and refreshing the body. After class he pulled me aside and took my hand. He began to rub my wrist and then started to crack some knuckles, pull my arm (literally ha-ha-ha) and slowly worked his way up to my neck and spine. After about 15 seconds he had done his magic! He told me that during class he could see that my “spine wanted to get out” by the way I was siting and trying to be comfortable. He gave me a hug and began explaining his willingness to help and care for others “I help when I see need”- while two of my friends stood next to me, he began to elaborate on the importance of faith and listening to God. After fifteen minutes his enthusiasm was contagious- he was filled with joy because we had stayed after class and listened to him. He grabbed our hands and started to pray, thanking God for bringing us into his life. About 5 minutes after hugging him goodbye he ran into us again and insisted on showing us his office which is complete with a bed for acupuncture, concentrated herbs, decorative fabrics, Inspirational and biblical quotes, medicine cabinet and autonomic nerve system paraphernalia. “If you have hurt or need my practice, come to here and I will listen to God and help you”.  Today when some friends and I saw him in passing he stopped to give us all a kiss on the cheek (a really wonderful and normal way to greet others here, however may be perceived as creepy in the United States).

Other than embracing my fantastic environment at school, I’ve been spending time with my new family and friends. I’ve been meeting people from Brazil, Holland, Morocco, and Malawi and all parts of the USA. It has been so easy to make friends here; everyone is very respectable, open minded and out going. Every Tuesday and Thursday night our school provides free dance classes! Last night we learned a bit of Salsa and merengue- it was so much fun! I’ll be practicing with every opportunity! After dancing we went out to a neighborhood bar and tried Costa Rican’s “Imperial” beer, which I find similar to what you may know as “Bud Light”. Tonight we’re going out again for a special: $4 for 3 beers… and tomorrow hopefully the disco techo and/or Salsa night at some dances clubs.

As for my home life- everything is still wonderful. My tico dad (Tyrone) is so great and caring. Each morning and evening he prepares us dinner and then sits with us (doesn’t eat) and tries to understand our Spanish. According to Tyrone, every piece of food that is fed to us is “MUY (said with a huge smirk and/or smile, arms up and far apart) differente y mas rico en Costa Rica” – VERY different and more rich than in the United States.

I had another mishap the other day at breakfast. Tyrone asked me what my favorite fruits were. I responded “Mangos and Pene” which translates as “Mangos and Penis”. I meant “Pina” which is pineapple. Another gut busted by Tyrone and red face on me.

Last night before Jocelyn and I went out he told us he would leave the light on for us, but we had to make sure to turn it off. We returned home to find a small nightlight on in the hallway, illuminating about 5 sq. inches of our twenty-foot hallway. What a guy!

Leave a comment