Estoy aqui! #1

Hola! It is so exciting to finally be in Costa Rica! My experience so far has been fantastic. Although I haven’t been here very long, I am already falling in love with the people, culture and food of Costa Rica.

After a long day of traveling alone I was happy to make friends with an older man from Mexico who was going to visit his lady in Costa Rica. He was kind enough to tap my shoulder and point out different things on his map- “Theees es the Po-si-fic os-sean”- I had a great time pretending like I had just learned crucial information. He was very sweet to me and helped me practice some Spanish.

I live with a mom, dad and three sisters who are all very nice! I also have a roommate named Jocelyn who happens to go to Grand Valley as well. Oh! And Tito, a little doggy!

There are many rules for this house that will be challenging; no speaking English, no friends are allowed in my bedroom or at the house past 10PM, doors must be kept closed, rooms must be kept spotless… and no alcoholic beverages…

I’ve already learned so many new words since my host dad, Tyrone, is gung-ho on us only communicating in Spanish. Luckily everyone is very patient and helpful with my butchered Spanish. Tyrone and I had a good laugh this morning at breakfast when I told him I was “excitida” (excited: one word that I thought I could say with confidence)- he explained that this word is used to describe a couple in the bedroom. While cracking up he strongly suggested that I used “emocionada”.

At orientation today many of us students left feeling uneasy after hearing unfortunate stories of past students; robberies, sickness, probation, harassment, earthquakes, assaults and arrest. I feel pretty safe so far – the ISA program is very accommodating and helpful, and Tyrone has made it clear that he now has 5 daughters, instead of just three–“Mi familia es su familia”.

For lunch today Jocelyn and I met up with our new friends John, Fatima, Ima, Seth and Chad who are all ISA students living in our neighborhood. Very few restaurants and stores were open today, as the official religion of the country is Catholic and today (Sunday) is the day of rest. We walked all around our neighborhood and found a small outdoor mall with a nice open food court. While standing in line for food a worker had us try his juices and his rice & beans, then he gave us free maps of Costa Rica. So friendly! I hope to become a regular customer by the end of the semester.

After lunch we walked around some more and then relaxed at a park table and discussed the different beaches we can visit in the next few months. When it started to rain we were reluctant to return to our houses. Although many of the Tico families are very friendly and welcoming, I think many of us are having a hard time being alone. Many of the houses are very small, with very little room for fellowship and relaxing outside of personal quarters. My host family is very close, however it is very quiet here, and most everyone stays in their bedrooms. It is hard to come to an empty and unfamiliar room at the end of an overwhelming day of meeting new friends.

Dinner tonight was rather successful! Jocelyn and I were able to maintain a nice conversation with Tyrone, who is beginning to find us very funny. Since our Tica mom is currently in the USA, we have yet to meet her. Tyrone has been taking good care of us; helping us with Spanish, cooking and walking us to the school. Picture a short & stout Costa Rican man wearing a floral apron and flashing a toothy grin as you walk into the kitchen- it’s great!!!

4 comments
  1. Kristen said:

    Yay Bridget! Happy to hear your hilarity translates as well in costa rica as it does here 🙂 pura VIDA xoxo

  2. Nancy Denison said:

    Bridget- sounds wonderful, so glad you are off to a good start with your new familia in CR. Looking forward to hearing more of your adventures for the newxt 3 months. xxoo Nancy

  3. Hannah Morgan said:

    Bridget! I am so excited for you! I know the first couple weeks can feel uncomfortable but try your best to make the best of being overwhelmed with speaking spanish for a bit, the parents know you are not a pro yet but i promise you by the end of your adventure….YOU WILL BE! YAY! You will feel so confident about it and I know the houses at first are not what you are expecting but take it with a grain of salt and make your space your own, hang up some pictures and tell your tico family about the people in them. Also, the first day of school can be scary but be smart and you will be fine! Go meet Victor the van driver if you havent yet, he is AMAZING! and go to Sultans! PURA VIDA ❤

  4. B. Tiff- it all sounds so great. I am so happy that everything is working out! And as hilarious as you are in the English language, I am sure the Spanish one is no different. You will have more than just free rice and beans by the end of the semester1!!..love you lots and can not wait to hear more!!!

Leave a comment